donnersmarkt restaurant logo 2
donnersmarkt restaurant history

Donnersmarkt Restaurant

Rooted in History background

donnersmarkt restaurant history

When the magnificent Vienna’s Ringstraße (ring road), built on the former glacis, was under construction, numerous residential palais’ were also erected, along with spacious parks and public buildings. According to the motto: “For the Emperor the Imperial Palace, for the nobles baroque inner-city palaces.” These splendid edifices evolved throughout history, reflecting the changes in taste, style and society. Our Palais at Parkring 14 was commissioned by the industrialist Hugo Henckel von Donnersmarck as a present to his second wife Laura, née Duchess Kaszongi, in 1871/72. Tracing back their family roots, the Donnersmarcks used to deal with fresh produce and vegetables from their estate in Northern Slovakia, which they traditionally sold on Thursdays (Donnerstag) at farmers’ markets. This historic buidling, now reborn in the heart of the city as Donnersmarkt Restaurant.

The Cuisine

For Lovers of Alpine Cuisine

donnersmarkt alpine cuisine

“Inspired by the traditional Viennese weekly markets as well as a homage to the family’s history, we indulge in trendy Austrian Alpine “plant-forward” cuisine here at the former Henkel von Donnersmark Palais. We listen to our guests and follow their food trends. Fresh regional and seasonal vegetables from the Alpine regions set the tone, leaving meat and fish to be delicious extras. The long, inviting table in the middle of the restaurant not only encourages friendly get-togethers, but also the internationally popular culinary concept of food sharing. This turns our menu, which is rich in refined, regional masterpieces, using produce from the countryside, the sea and the fields, into a culinary journey, just as it was intended by our Executive Chef Andreas.

Nature plays a major part in the interior design of the restaurant. The Spanish artists Alejandro Jaler and Nicolas Lucas created a contemporary fresco using plaster. The natural pigments used resemble the colours of the enchanting Viennese city park. Opposite the Donnersmarkt Restaurant this lush green oasis invites guests, especially during the warmer seasons, to just relax and enjoy – immersed in Imperial Ringstraßen flair!”

donnersmarkt alpine cuisine
donnersmarkt restaurant staurant andreas

Recommendations by our Executive Chef

Andreas’ Personal Kitchen Joys

andreas mahl chef

This should not be missed on any of his menus, says Executive Chef Andreas Mahl! The yellow pepper cream soup with grilled prawns.

From the fields
Confit of celery with chervil, pistachios and Bearnaise sauce.

From the sea
Sautéed pike-perch fillet, a high-quality wild fish caught from the lakes of the Salzkammergut.

From the countryside
Delmonico steak from the Blondvieh, a native cattle breed.

As a sweet conclusion, Andreas recommends “Bienenstich” a rare but traditional dessert made from a yeast dough and a delicious almond mixture that caramelises whilst baking. It’s his favourite dessert.

Donnersmarkt Breakfast

A Delightful Start to a Day in Vienna

donnersmarkt restaurant green omlette

Following the tradition, we serve a freshly prepared and personally served à la carte breakfast at our restaurant with lush coffee from a local roastery. A culinary highlight already in the morning! At the Donnersmarkt Restaurant, we combine sustainable breakfast ingredients from the region like the delightful “Öfferl” organic sourdough bread, a famous bread with character, international but locally interpreted egg dishes as well as other morning sins on a plate. The smoked salmon on wholemeal bread with avocado and organic eggs is one of our Executive Chef’s favourites. Andreas’ insider tip is a traditional Austrian semolina pudding with a berry confit and organic honey.

Rarely to be found on a restaurant menu! All cheese aficionados will delight in the typically Austrian cheese platter with the finest cheeses from Pöhl am Naschmarkt! “The last thing you should remember after a hotel stay is the breakfast coffee!” Andreas Alexander Mahl

donnersmarkt restaurant green omlette

Meet The Team

alcron prague restaurant andreas

Andreas Alexander Mahl

Executive Chef
daniel mathke

Daniel Mathke

F&B Service with key competencies as Sommelier

Opening hours for breakfast

Monday

6:30am – 11:00am

Tuesday

6:30am – 11:00am

Wednesday

6:30am – 11:00am

Thursday

6:30am – 11:00am

Friday

6:30am – 11:00am

Saturday

6:30am – 2:00pm

Sunday

6:30am – 2:00pm

OPENING HOURS FOR THE RESTAURANT

Monday

Closed

Tuesday

12:00pm – 10:30pm

Wednesday

12:00pm – 10:30pm

Thursday

12:00pm – 10:30pm

Friday

12:00pm – 10:30pm

Saturday

2:00pm – 10:30pm

Sunday

Closed

Last order at Donnersmarkt restaurant: 9:30pm

donnersmarkt restaurant logo 2
donnersmarkt restaurant history

Restaurant Donnersmarkt

Der Geschichte verbunden

donnersmarkt restaurant history

Beim Bau der prachtvollen Wiener Ringstraße entstanden auf dem ehemaligen Glacis – neben großzügigen Parkanlagen und öffentlichen Gebäuden – Palais für das damalige Großbürgertum. Ganz nach dem Motto „Dem Kaiser die Hofburg, dem Adel die barocken Innenstadtpalais.“ Prunkvolle Palastbauten, welche im Laufe der Zeit nicht nur stilistischen Veränderungen unterworfen waren, sondern auch den gesellschaftlichen Wandel widerspiegelten. Bauherr unseres Palais am Parkring 14 war der Industrielle Hugo Henckel von Donnersmarck, welcher es als Geschenk für seine zweite Frau Laura, geboren als Gräfin Kaszongi, in den Jahren 1871/72, erbauen ließ. Zurückführend auf ihre familiären Wurzeln handelten schon damals die Donnersmarcks in ihrer nordslowakischen Heimat mit frischen Lebensmitteln und Gemüse, welche sie speziell an Donnerstagen über Bauernmärkte zum Kauf anboten. Aus diesem historischen Gebäude im Herzen Wien’s wird nun das Donnersmarkt Restaurant.

Die Küche

Für Liebhaber alpiner Küche

donnersmarkt alpine cuisine

Inspiriert von der Tradition Wiener Wochenmärkte sowie als Hommage an die Familiengeschichte verwöhnen wir im ehemaligen Henkel von Donnersmarck Palais mit trendiger, alpiner „Plantforward-Küche“. Denn wir hören auf unsere Gäste und folgen ihren Foodtrends. Dabei geben frisches regionales wie saisonales Gemüse aus den alpinen Ländern den Ton an, während Fleisch und Fisch zu einer köstlichen Nebensache werden. Unser langer, einladender Tisch in der Restaurantmitte fördert nicht nur das gesellige „Beisammensein“, sondern auch das international sehr beliebte Kulinarik-Konzept des Teilens. Somit wird unsere Speisekarte – reich an regionalen, raffinierten Kreationen unseres Küchenchefs Andreas vom Land, aus dem Wasser oder vom Feld – zu einer kulinarischen Entdeckungsreise.

Die Natur spielt selbst im Interior Design eine große Rolle, denn das von den spanischen Künstlern Alejeandro Jaler und Nicolas Lucas gestaltete Wandgemälde an zeitgenössischer Fresko-Kunst aus Gips und natürlichen Pigmenten erinnert an die Farben des Wiener Stadtparks. Eine grüne Wohlfühl- und Genussoase gegenüber dem Donnersmarkt Restaurant, welche unsere Gäste speziell in der warmen Jahreszeit im gemütlichen Gastgarten in vollen Zügen genießen können. Mit absolut imperialem Ringstraßenflair!

donnersmarkt alpine cuisine
donnersmarkt restaurant staurant andreas

Empfehlungen unseres Küchenchefs

Andeas persönliche Küchenfreuden

andreas mahl chef

Sie darf auf keiner seiner Speisekarten fehlen, sagt Andreas Mahl, Executive Chef! Die gelbe Paprikacremesuppe mit gegrillten Garnelen.

Vom Feld
Konfit vom Sellerie mit Kerbel, Pistazien und Sauce Bearnaise.

Aus dem Wasser
Gebranntes Zanderfilet, ein Edelfisch aus Wildfang aus den Salzkammergutseen.

Vom Land
Delmonico steak from the Blondvieh, a native cattle breed.

Delmonico Steak vom Blondvieh, einer bodenständigen Rinderlandrasse. Zum süßen Abschluss empfiehlt Andreas den Bienenstich, ein seltenes, aber traditionelles Dessert aus Hefeteig und köstlicher Mandelmasse, welche beim Backen karamelisiert. Sein Lieblingsdessert.

Donnersmarkt Frühstück

Der genussvollste Start in einen Wientag

donnersmarkt restaurant breakfest

Der Tradition folgend servieren wir in unserem Palaisrestaurant frisch zubereitetes und persönlich serviertes à la carte Frühstück. Mit köstlichem Kaffee einer heimischen Rösterei. Kulinarisch ein wahres Erlebnis schon zeitig am Morgen! Denn im Donnersmarkt Restaurant vereinen sich nachhaltige Frühstückszutaten aus der Umgebung auf genussvollem Öfferl Bio-Sauerteigbrot, dem berühmten Brot mit Charakter, internationale, aber lokal interpretierte Eiergerichte sowie morgendliche Sünden auf dem Teller. Wobei geräucherter Lachs auf Vollkornbrot mit Avocado und Bio-Ei zum Lieblingsgericht unseres Küchenchefs zählt. Andreas wahrer Geheimtipp ist jedoch das in Österreich traditionelle Grieskoch mit Beerenröster und Bio-Honig.

Nur noch selten auf einer Restaurantkarte zu finden! Für alle Käseliebhaber findet sich eine typische österreichische Käseplatte mit feinsten Käsesorten von Pöhl am Nachmarkt auf der Frühstückskarte! „Das Letzte, woran man sich bei einem Hotelaufenthalt erinnert, ist der Frühstückskaffee!“ Andreas Alexander Mahl

donnersmarkt restaurant green omlette

Treffen Sie das Team

daniel mathke

Daniel Mathke

F&B Service with key competencies as Sommelier

Öffnungszeiten für das Frühstück

Montag

6:30am – 11:00am

Dienstag

6:30am – 11:00am

Mittwoch

6:30am – 11:00am

Donnerstag

6:30am – 11:00am

Freitag

6:30am – 11:00am

Samstag

6:30am – 2:00pm

Sonntag

6:30am – 2:00pm

ÖFFNUNGSZEITEN FÜR DAS RESTAURANT

Montag

Geschlossen

Dienstag

12:00pm – 10:30pm

Mittwoch

12:00pm – 10:30pm

Donnerstag

12:00pm – 10:30pm

Freitag

12:00pm – 10:30pm

Samstag

2:00pm – 10:30pm

Sonntag

Geschlossen

Letzte Bestellung im Restaurant Donnersmarkt: 9:30pm